Home > Heritage and Culture > Heritage Sites
As Gaeilge


The Black Abbey

The Black Abbey

Convent of the One and Undivided Trinity

Photo of the Black Abbey

The Dominican Black Abbey of Kilkenny established in 1225 by William Marshall the Younger, Earl of Pembroke. Originally The Black Abbey was part of a more extensive Dominican Priory and acquired its name from the Black Friars, as the Dominicans were known. The Black Abbey is the longest established of all the Dominicans Irish foundations.

The Black Abbey was at the centre of civic life in Kilkenny for centuries. It was repressed in 1543, converted into a courthouse and served as such until the end of the 17th century. Partially restored in 1778, the Abbey did not become a place of public worship until the mid-19th century.

The church was renovated in the 1970s to its original glory with a magnificent coloured stained glass window, and there are also many fascinating statues and relics on display there.

Kilkenny County Council, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny
Tel: +353 (0) 56 7794000 | Fax: +353 (0) 56 7794004 | Email: info@kilkennycoco.ie | Emergency outside office hours: : 1890 252 654
Feedback | About Us | Privacy | Disclaimer